No screens week @ the library

Posted On April 22, 2010

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 2 responses

This week is No Screens Week at the library. Maybe it was a good idea in the minds of the librarians, but when used in real life, it doesn’t go over so well. Here’s the real discriminatory thing about it. The computers were only off in the children’s section. Excuse me, but shouldn’t it apply to all the computers? Or do when kids grow into adults, they change from homo sapiens to maybe homo controlingtheiryoungbecausetheyseemtothinkthattheiryoungcantthinkandactforthemselvesus. If you want a No Screens Week, it should be No Screens Week, and not No Screens Week for Kids. If you want No Screens Week for Kids, be up front about it. Don’t be sneaky about it and call it No Screens Week. The only “perk” about it is that they offer a bunch of great free activities. Though as my mom put it, “why do you need a No Screens Week to do that?”. Also, they taped paper things over the computers saying “Don’t let your family be like this” and it showed a family on a couch going, in a word, “Durrrrrrrrr…..” then on the other side of the paper it shows them on a hike and acting like they just won the lottery or something. TV can be just as educational as a book. It’s also silly because it bans you from using a Kindle and cell phones. Basically, it’s a quite silly and dumb thing. And just because you think it’s a good idea, it doesn’t give you the right to force it on other people.

2 Responses to “No screens week @ the library”

  1. Ren

    I agree. There’s enough discrimination against kids in our society already….the library should not encourage that!

  2. Cherilyn

    Hey, Ben!
    Great writing! I completely respect your thoughts, but I wanted to run a couple of things by you. Please keep in mind that I don’t want to change your mind on this topic.

    I am an adult who is glad the library has screen-free week for the kids. When I’m there with my boys a few times during the week, I see so many kids (mostly boys) on the computers for a very long time. They’re only supposed to be on for an hour (too long for public computer use, in my opinion), but my boys have reported that these kids switch library cards so they can stay on longer. When we were in there this week, it was so much more peaceful with the gaming kids gone.

    On one hand, I’m glad that kids have a safe place like the library to visit after school. On the other, it’s sad to see so many kids focused on a screen 18 inches from their face when they could be moving their bodies and talking with friends.

    I do have to give your family huge credit for opening to my eyes to the benefits of media via screens, however. Most people watch TV mindlessly, but not your crew! I’m glad that I can hear what you’re watching and thinking about.

    OK, so back to screen-free week! I think that the reasons the adults get the computers and the kids had them turned off was because the kids (mine, too!) are using the computers to play games and the adults are using them for work, like writing papers and emails and doing research. Turning off my computer for a week would be like turning off my phone for a week–not very practical or safe.

    I’ll admit that I’m hypocritical, however. Being on Facebook with your mom isn’t exactly work, but it’s not the same as playing “blast-’em!” games on the computer.

    But what do you think? Do you think I’m not giving computer games enough credit?

    cherilyn

Leave a Reply

