Quick Overview

Posted On August 19, 2008

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped one response

Here are a few pics of the last couple of months

first fireworks 08

first fireworks 08

great balls of fire, my oh my

great balls of fire, my oh my

the grande finale

the grande finale

This is the first year we have ever done our own fireworks.  Since it is legal in Montana for a few days around the 4th of July, Dad really wanted to purchase some fireworks. 

Next, My Great Aunt and Great Uncle came to visit.  We had a nice time seeing them again after a long time.  We went to Lewis and Clark caverns, which is an incredible formation of stalagmites and stalagtites.

stone waterfall

stone waterfall

I believe that specific formation is caused by a bunch of thin stalagmites and stalagtites joining against the wall to create that effect.

a tree stump of rock

a tree stump of rock

 

And now some picture of Ethan’s casts, which by the way, his treatment is going well.

before

before

after

after

 

After that, we had Pop Pop and Nu Nu visit.  We enjoyed having them here.  We went to the bite of Bozeman is where a bunch of restaurants come down and have people sample their foods to try and attract customers.  There was also live music, including a jug band which Mom really enjoyed.

Then pretty much everything we did was things on the way to Spokane, in Spokane, and on the way back from Spokane.  The first thing was, we went to a used bookstore and there were more books than I had ever seen in one place (besides the library).  Then we got the best cherries ever, which I can still taste.  Last week we went to this awesome carnival in Spokane where I did pretty much all the rides there.  My brothers loved going on a bunch of rides.

it's a berry eat person world

it

me on the ferris wheel

me on the ferris wheel

 

We stopped by a rest stop which happened to have an exhibit all about mining and it’s history.  It was in Idaho.  We had fun using the interactive equipment that was there.  Here is a picture of how much Arthur and Ethan enjoyed it!

a lesson in teamwork

a lesson in teamwork

 

And finally, we went to a National Park called the Grant-Kohrs Ranch.  It was a n historical site about how cowboys worked on a ranch.  They even had a horse that we got to pet and say hi to, but he was too eager to eat to pay attention to us!  I tried to use a lasso, tried homemade peach cobbler, and even received a hoof pick from the blacksmith.

I play cowboy

I play cowboy

 

Enjoy the update!

One Response to “Quick Overview”

  1. Grammy

    Ben! Thank you SO much for the photos and update on you and your family! I’ve been checking this website everyday hoping for some news – today I feel like I got a gift from you! I especially enjoyed the photos – wow! you and your brothers are looking very mature. I like your long hair – it is reminesent of your Dad’s hair when he was in high school and college.
    I’m glad that the trips to Spokane have some fun attached to them. Ethan looks like he is getting around well.
    The summer is almost over. The University students are back and Julia will start school on 8/26 – she’s 9 years old and in the 4th grade.
    Take care and have fun, Ben! I love you! Please give hugs and kisses to your family for me! Love, Grammy XXOO

Leave a Reply

